Skip to content

Ambassadors Welcome Peers to Wegmans School of Pharmacy

February 21, 2018

In fall 2017, the Wegmans School of Pharmacy launched a student ambassador program to help incoming and current students feel welcome in the pharmacy program.

The School of Pharmacy's new student ambassadors with Dean Christine Birnie.

Currently, there are 30 student ambassadors ranging from first-year to third-year students.

As ambassadors, students represent the School at open house events, interview days, P-1 orientation, the White Coat Ceremony, and alumni events, among other activities and events. The ambassadors work alongside Dean Christine Birnie and Dr. David McCaffrey, assistant dean of student affairs, to represent the School in various ways.

Student ambassadors also participate in trainings and meetings, volunteer on student panels, give tours to prospective students, help organize and run events, and collaborate with faculty.

“The main responsibility of the student ambassadors is to share what it’s like being a student here and to be a helpful point of contact for prospective students,” explained Tori Kavanaugh ’20.

Kavanaugh understands how important the student ambassador program is for the current and prospective students because it is an easy way to relate while highlighting the School’s strong points.

Current student Nathaniel Bowden ’19 was a peer advisor during his undergraduate years at Fisher. This leadership experience encouraged him to become a pharmacy student ambassador because it gave him the opportunity to promote the pharmacy profession and his passion for the program.

“A student actually decided to come to Fisher because of the conversation we had and how passionate I was about not only the School but of the profession of pharmacy itself,” Bowden said.

The current student ambassadors are: Alexandria Bertalli, Ashley Blaakman, Nathaniel Bowden, Hanna Case, Paige Dickter, Lirika Emerllahu, Carrie-Jo Farrugia, Riley Goho, Kyle Goodrich, Aleah Groman, Jenna Houk, Rachel Jorgensen, Melissa Kabb, Tori Kavanaugh, Emily Kuba, Casey Kuder, Allison LeFever, Morgan Marriott, Juliette Miller, Ashley Nolan, Jillian Owens, Martin Peace, Mackenzie Roberts, Alyssa Romaine, T'aire Ryan, Samantha  Schermerhorn, Samantha Sherry, Jenna Stogsdill, Jessica Tousant, and Elizabeth Uttaro.