Skip to content

Pharmacy Enjoys Strong Showing at Professional Conference

May 1, 2018

Students and faculty at the Wegmans School of Pharmacy earned a host of accolades and awards during the New York State Council of Health-system Pharmacists (NYSCHP) Annual Assembly, held in April in Saratoga Springs.

Mike DeAngelis and Alex Ferrara in front of their research poster.

P4 students Mike DeAngelis and Alex Ferrara won first place in the student poster competition, for their collaboration with Drs. Kelly Conn, Lisa Phillips, and Fang Zhao entitled, “Assessment of Splitting Methods for Buprenorphine/Naloxone Sublingual Films.” 

P3 students Joelle Arieno and Karlie Mahan participated in the inaugural NYSCHP Student Clinical Competition.  A new competition for the council, teams of students from each New York State school of pharmacy are given a written case study regarding a patient admitted with community-acquired pneumonia. As one of the top three teams, Arieno and Mahan advanced to a Jeopardy!-style “brain bowl” competition, earning a second place finish overall in the competition.

Luke Sanna, an alumnus of the School of Pharmacy and current resident at Wegmans, participated in the Residency Research and Practice Forum, presenting his project “Evaluation of Diabetes Patient Care Indicators in a Primary Care Clinic.”  Alumni Joe Aladeen and Erin Beitz also presented projects during the forum. Drs. Lisa Phillips and Lisa Avery, who direct PGY-2 residencies in conjunction with School, each had their resident participate in the Residency Research and Practice Forum.  Phillips, who was elected to the NYSCHP Research and Education Foundation (REF) Board last year, led one of the continuing education sessions.

Drs. Matthew Zak and Sean Fellows represented the whole Rochester chapter (RASHP) at the annual House of Delegates, which helps make policies and position statements for the state council. Zak was also sworn in as president of the Rochester chapter.