Skip to content

Student Achievements on Display during Year-End Ceremonies

May 31, 2018

Two events this spring showcased the academic and co-curricular achievements of students at the Wegmans School of Pharmacy.

The Wegmans School of Pharmacy honored students during its annual awards ceremony in May.

On Thursday, April 26, 24 students were inducted into the Phi Lambda Sigma Epsilon Delta and Delta Zeta Chapter of Rho Chi honor societies.

The following students were inducted into Phi Lambda Sigma Epsilon Delta: Joelle Arieno, Hailey Button, Matthew Cheung, Syle Chupp, Torie Fyles, Bethany Lane, Spencer Phillips, and Jordan Siembor.

Rho Chi Honor Society inductees included: Sarah Belz, Dana Cohan, Elizabeth Cusack, Emily Gadarowski, Rachel Jorgensen, Casey Kuder, Cassidy Luke, Juliette Miller, Alan Nguyen, Kevin O'Connor, Alexa Peebles, Erin Pfenninger, Kristen Poteat, Kateryna Rashid, Jenna Stogsdill, and Joy Uzoma.

One week later, students, faculty, and staff attended the School’s annual awards ceremony. Recipients of several student and faculty awards and honors were recognized for their hard work and dedication to the pharmacy field.

Jenna Stogsdill was selected as the 2018 Swigart Scholarship recipient, given in memory of Dr. Scott Swigart, founding dean of the School. The scholarship recognizes a student who is in good academic standing, demonstrates leadership abilities, and is involved in activities within the School, community, church, or civic organization, or works full- or part-time.

This year, the School created the Dr. Jack Brown Clinical Research Award, named in honor of pharmacy faculty member Dr. Jack Brown, who passed unexpectedly last fall. The award, given to Mikaela Brown and Karlie Mahan, recognizes third-year students who have a record of clinical research accomplishments.

The Thomas and Eileen Hogenkamp Scholarship was given to Albania Mitchell. The scholarship is given to a full-time first-year student who has worked hard and shown effort in making the world a better place. Recipients are also selected based on a written essay that discusses their pharmacy career goals.

Riley Goho was named the recipient of the inaugural Burcroff Memorial Scholarship, which provides support to a first-year pharmacy student who shows great promise in pharmacy studies.

Matthew Cheung, Emily Kuba, and Sareli Bonilla received awards given by CVS Pharmacy. They were recognized for their academic achievement, interest in community pharmacy practice, and time spent working as an intern or volunteer with an organization that supports underserved populations.

This year’s recipients of the corporate-sponsored Unither Pharmaceuticals Award, a French company with a manufacturing site on Jefferson Road, were Michelle Ubowski and Kristin Reindel. This award is given to third-year students who are in good academic standing overall and who have shown exemplary performance in the pharmaceutical sciences.

Juliette Miller was selected as the Pharmacy Society of Rochester award recipient for her essay responding to the question, “What should a professional society offer you as an incentive to become a member?”

2018 Teachers and Preceptor of the Year Dr. Anand Sridhar, Dr. Mindy Lull, Dr. Lisa Avery, and Dr. Anne Schweighardt, accepted their awards from Dean Christine Birnie.

2018 Teachers and Preceptor of the Year Dr. Anand Sridhar, Dr. Mindy Lull, Dr. Lisa Avery, and Dr. Anne Schweighardt, accepted their awards from Dean Christine Birnie.

The NACDS Foundation Pharmacy Partners Scholarship honors students who have completed one year of the professional pharmacy program, exhibit strong oral and written communication skills, excels in the area of patient counseling, and is in good academic standing. This year’s winners were Torie Fyles and Lindsey Shoales.

Jacqueline Ball was given the National Council for Prescription Drug Programs (NCPDP) Foundation Scholarship. The NCPDP Foundation funds scholarships (and research projects) that drive better quality health care through the use of standards-based health information technology. Ball was recognized for engaging in activities that promote information technology in pharmacy and patient safety health outcomes.

Thom Maciulewicz and Matthew O’Connell were recognized for their significant achievements at the local and national American Society of Health-System Pharmacists Clinical Skills Competition.

Bethany Toole was recognized as the winner of the local American Pharmacists Association Patient Counseling Competition. Toole represented the School of Pharmacy at the National Patient Counseling Competition in Nashville, Tennessee.

Each year, the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP) hosts a clinical pharmacy challenge and at the ceremony, Komul Bedi, Mallory Knapp, and Rachel VanDuser were recognized as winners of the local competition. After winning the School’s competition, they competed nationally in written and online rounds covering many different clinical topics.

The 2018 winners of Fisher’s ACCP Clinical Research Challenge local competition were Morgan Marriott, Michelle Brown, and Micahel Sellars.

Bethany Lane received an ACCP Student Travel Award, which offered support for travel to the ACCP Annual Meeting held in Phoenix, Arizona where she presented her scholarly work. Lane was also given the ACCP Outstanding Student Chapter Member Award.

Michelle Ubowski was a recipient of the ACCP Pharmacy Industry Travel Award and the American Foundation for Pharmaceutical Education Gateway to Research Scholarship.

The winners of the 2017-2018 Alvin F. and Ruth K. Thiem Foundation Scholarships were: Joelle Arieno, Ina Buga, Sylvanus Chupp, Jessica Colmerauer, John Crean, Dasharath Dulal, Carrie-Jo Farrugia, Torie Fyles, Anthony Giannetti, Mallory Knapp, Honghao Li, Albania Mitchell, Heni Patel, Kateryna Rashid, Jordan Siembor, and Michelle Ubowski.

During the ceremony, the School also recognized exceptional faculty members and preceptors.

The Outstanding Advisors of the Year were Dr. Kelly Conn, Dr. Mindy Lull, and Dr. Deirdre Pierce.

The 2018 Teachers of the Year, selected by each class, were Dr. Anand Sridhar (P1 class); Dr. Mindy Lull (P2 class); and Dr. Lisa Avery (P3 class). The Faculty Preceptor of the Year Award was given to Dr. Anne Schweighardt.