Skip to content

Tri-Beta Holds 2018 Induction Ceremony

April 17, 2018

The Upsilon Rho chapter of the Beta Beta Beta Biological Honor Society held its 2018 Induction Ceremony on Wednesday, March 28. The event included a welcome from the chair of the Biology Department, Dr. Daryl Hurd, and an introduction by the chapter advisor, Dr. Noveera Ahmed.

Members of the Upsilon Rho chapter of the Beta Beta Beta Biological Honor Society.

The ceremony also highlighted the achievements of the chapter members over the last year. These include:

  • Six members won Beta Beta Beta Research Foundation grants for a combined total of $4,308.
  • Ten chapter members presented their research findings at the 2017 TriBeta NE-3 District Convention, where three members won awards for their presentations.
  • The 21 current chapter members engaged in a combined total of 948 hours of community service from summer 2017 through spring 2018. The volunteer activities were at on-campus fundraising efforts, local hospitals, and local non-for-profit organizations. Nine chapter members also volunteered to be judges at a science fair organized by a local elementary school and the chapter organized an event where members made holiday cards for the elderly members of a nursing home.
  • The chapter also presented three awards. Alex Freedenberg won the Best Member award for his efforts towards his research endeavors, high-level of participation in the honor society, and high commitment to community through volunteer activities. Anthony Emanuel won the Research Award for his achievements in the area of undergraduate research. Grace Stoklosa won the Service Award for completing 340 hours of volunteering over one academic year.

During the event, the chapter inducted 32 new regular members and seven associate members. New officers were also inducted: Allen Murphy, president; Olivia Marziale, vice president; Grace Stoklosa, secretary; Thomas Pasquale, treasurer; and Miranda Williamson, historian.

Members of the Upsilon Rho chapter of the Beta Beta Beta Biological Honor Society.

New regular members include Miranda Williamson, Lauren N. Adamchick, Iryrene Elsa Alex, Samir Botros-Greenlee, Tanner Brill, Michael Chase, Leah Forehand, Vincenzo Louis Gramuglia, Evan Victor Judd Gudell, Natalie Anne Guzelak, Nathan Joseph Halsteter, Ashley E. Jensen, Brady Jensen, Matthew Thomas Kaiser, Liga Astra Kalnina, Joseph Karboski, Jenna Nicole Keppel, Cassandra LeClair, Quinn Magiera, Alex Martinez, Emily Rebecca McDermott, John Phillip Miller, Allen Murphy, Thomas Anthony Pasquale, Glenn Roschetzky, Francesca Marie Rosso, Andrew P. Shay, Nathan D Shimer, Ashlie Smith, Adrianna Soucy, Samantha Nicole Tardugno, and Brianna Walworth.

New associate members include Deanna Berg, Maura Connorton, Stephanie R. Kristof, Ryan W. Lemmon, Adelle Reale, Lyndsay M. Sheerin, and Jareth Wischmeyer.