Skip to content

Cardinal Awards Celebrate Student Life at Fisher

April 18, 2019

More than 200 students celebrated the accomplishments of their peers during the Cardinal Awards, sponsored by the Student Government Association (SGA). Held on Sunday, April 14, the awards ceremony honored individual students, clubs and organizations, faculty and staff, and athletic teams for their success and contributions to the fabric of student life on campus.

SGA members at the 2019 Cardinal Awards.

In remarks during the ceremony, Madison Byrne, director of spirit and traditions for SGA, reflected on the importance of student involvement.

“We have experienced so much over the course of this academic year, and without each and every one of you having a commitment to growth and learning, things may have happened differently,” she said. “As a member of the Fisher family, you know that committing yourself to the values within the Fisher Creed is necessary. I hope we all can continue to hold each other accountable to these values, as we continue our time on this beautiful campus.”

The following awards were given during the Cardinal Awards:

Service Project of the Year: Gaming Club’s ExtraLife video game event, which raised money for the Children’s Miracle Network

Best New Event: We is for Equality, created by Natalie Gates and Allison Baird

Best Collaborative Event: Afro-Latino, Black Student Union and Latino Student Union

Event of the Year: Teddi Dance for Love

Most Improved Club: Black Student Union

Club Executive Board Member of the Year: Madison Seamon, president, Student Activities Board

Club Advisor of the Year: Arien Rozelle, The PRIMA Group

Club of the Year: The PRIMA Group

Residence Hall Council of the Year: Haffey Hall

Residence Hall Association Member of the Year: Melissa Kenney

Athlete of the Year: Sarah Kubik, women’s softball

Coach of the Year: Bari Mance, women’s softball

Team of the Year: St. John Fisher College Rowing

Freshman of the Year: Patrick Curtin

Sophomore of the Year: Nicholas Kinney

Junior of the Year: Samantha Bartalone

Senior Legacy Award: Allison Smith

Inclusivity Award: Oskarys Fermin

Civic Engagement Award: Samantha DiPerna

Jennifer Patterson Koon Award: Ranita Williams and Alexandra Fraguada

Susty Award: Brenna Sherman

Student Advocacy in Sustained Dialogue: Julia Detmer

Fisher Creed Award: Jocelyne Hakizimana

Senator of the Year: Quinten Sager

Most Spirited Cardinal: Jenna Keppel

Mary Ellen Milne Employee of the Year: Gabriella Kielbasinski, Office of Freshman Admissions

School of Business: Allison Smith

Ralph C. Wilson, Jr. School of Education: Abigail Kelly

Wegmans School of Nursing: Ana Garrabrant

School of Arts and Sciences: Ranita Williams and Gabriella Kielbasinski

Wegmans School of Pharmacy: Hailey Button

Faculty Member of the Year: Dr. Kathleen Donovan, assistant professor, School of Arts and Sciences

Staff Member of the Year: Chenno Bowens, Office of Campus Life

Administrator of the Year: Dr. Matha Thornton, vice president for student affairs and dean of students

Fisher Dining Member of the Year Award: Larry Dukes

View Photos from the Red Carpet and Awards Ceremony