Skip to content

Fisher Pharmacy Residents Earn Accolades at Statewide Conference

May 21, 2019

Pharmacy residents at St. John Fisher College’s Wegmans School of Pharmacy excelled during the New York State Council of Health System Pharmacists (NYSCHP) annual meeting, held in April.

Jenna Fancher (second from the left) earned an award for her original research project.

This year’s residents, Patrick McCabe ’17 (Pharm.D., MBA); Joy Snyder ’18 (Pharm.D.); Amy Fabian; Jenna Fancher, and Samantha Leistman ’16 (Pharm.D.), each presented at the annual meeting. Leistman won first place in the PGY 2 oral presenter award competition and Fabian placed second.

During the conference, three of the six recipients of the NYSCHP Research and Education Foundation (REF) Award were Fisher residents. Fancher (pictured above, second from the left), Fabian, and Dr. Julia Sessa, who held a residency position with Dr. Lisa Avery last year, each earned awards for their original research projects.

Two School faculty members also assumed leadership positions during the annual meeting. Dr. Shawn Fellows, assistant professor, was sworn in as president of the Rochester Area Society of Health-System Pharmacists (RASHP) at the installation banquet. Dr. Matt Zak, assistant professor, was officially installed as the NYSCHP Board of Directors at the banquet.