Skip to content
Assistant Professor
Areas of Interest: Cardiac remodeling, developmental biology
Janet Lighthouse

Apple Teacher


Post-Doctoral Fellowship, University of Rochester Medical Center
Post-Doctoral Fellowship, Yale University
Ph.D., State University of New York at Stony Brook
M.S., Johns Hopkins University
B.S., Johns Hopkins University


  • PHAR 3240 – Biosystems I
  • PHAR 3244 – Systems Pharmacology II
  • PHAR 4144 – Systems Pharmacology III


Dr. Lighthouse received her Ph.D. from Stony Brook University in 2010 in molecular and cellular biology where she focused on early mammalian development. After graduation, she did her post-doctoral training, first at Yale University investigating the origin of vascular smooth muscle cells in pulmonary hypertension, and then at the University of Rochester Medical Center investigating transcriptional differences in cardiac fibroblasts between exercise and disease. She joined the faculty of the Wegman School of Pharmacy as a full-time assistant professor in January 2020. Her primary research interests include cardiac remodeling and developmental biology.

Professional Organizations

  • Society for Developmental Biology
  • American Heart Association
  • International Society for Heart Research

Selected Recent Publications

  • Chen S, Zhang Y, Lighthouse JK, et al. A Novel Role of Cyclic Nucleotide Phosphodiesterase 10A in Pathological Cardiac Remodeling and Dysfunction. Circulation. 2020;141(3):217–233. doi:10.1161/CIRCULATIONAHA.119.042178
  • Brand CS, Lighthouse JK, Trembley MA. Protective transcriptional mechanisms in cardiomyocytes and cardiac fibroblasts. J Mol Cell Cardiol. 2019;132:1–12. doi:10.1016/j.yjmcc.2019.04.023
  • Burke RM, Lighthouse JK, Mickelsen DM, Small EM. Sacubitril/Valsartan Decreases Cardiac Fibrosis in Left Ventricle Pressure Overload by Restoring PKG Signaling in Cardiac Fibroblasts. Circ Heart Fail. 2019;12(4):e005565. doi:10.1161/CIRCHEARTFAILURE.118.005565
  • Lighthouse JK, Burke RM, Velasquez LS, et al. Exercise promotes a cardioprotective gene program in resident cardiac fibroblasts [published online ahead of print, 2019 Jan 10]. JCI Insight. 2019;4(1):e92098. doi:10.1172/jci.insight.92098
  • Lighthouse JK, Small EM. Transcriptional control of cardiac fibroblast plasticity. J Mol Cell Cardiol. 2016;91:52–60. doi:10.1016/j.yjmcc.2015.12.016