Skip to content

Wegmans School of Pharmacy Holds Hooding

May 15, 2018

Together with their friends and families, graduates of the Wegmans School of Pharmacy gathered with faculty and staff during the School’s annual hooding and award ceremony, held in the Ralph C. Wilson, Jr. Athletic Center on Friday, May 11.

Dean Christine Birnie places a hood on a graduating pharmacy student.

Graduate Kara Thomson delivered the invocation. Class co-presidents, Alexander Mathes and Connor Mack, presented the Class of 2018 gift, a generous check for the Jack E. Brown Endowment Fund. In addition to the presentation of hoods, the School honored 17 students with prestigious awards.

The winners included:

  • The Dean’s Circle Award recipients were Jacqueline Ball, Hayden Brayer, Tessa Kelly, Emily Schranz, Deidre Skalla, Alyssa Tardiff, and Kara Thomson. This award is given to students whose GPA was in the top 10 percent of the class.
  • The Wegmans Pharmacy Academic Excellence Award recipients were Emily Schranz and Kara Thomson. This award is given to a student who demonstrated the highest academic achievement in the study of pharmacy.
  • Shweta Shah was given the Mylan Excellence in Pharmacy Award, which is presented to a student who is in the top 25 percent of the class, and who has demonstrated high professional motivation and a unique ability to communicate drug information.
  • The Lilly Achievement Award was given to Tessa Kelly for her demonstrated superior scholastic and professional achievement.
  • The Merck Award winners–Frank Lattuca and Kimberly Miller–were honored for their demonstrated excellence in clinical skills and time management.
  • Daniel Faliy received the APhA-ASP Senior Recognition Certificate, which honors the student who made the greatest contribution to the Wegmans School of Pharmacy APhA-ASP Student Chapter.
  • The PSSNY Award, given this year to Dana Plakosh, recognizes a student who took leadership roles in activities with the Pharmacists Society of the State of New York.
  • Abigal Trezise was given the USPHS Excellence in Public Health Pharmacy Practice Award, which recognizes her contributions to public health pharmacy practice. The award winner is also honored for their involvement in public health issues in their community.
  • The Excellence in Experiential Education is given to the top 10 percent of students for their Core rotations. This year’s recipients were Hayden Brayer, Michael DeAngelis, Tessa Kelly, Connor Mack, Matthew O’Connell, Karlee Platts, Bianca Rivera, and Shibu Varughese.