Skip to content

Ceremony Celebrates Newly Established Presidents Society

June 7, 2019

On Thursday, June 6, St. John Fisher College community members gathered to celebrate the newly established Presidents Society, which recognizes philanthropists who have given gifts of $1 million or more to the College.

President Gerard J. Rooney delivers remarks about the newly established Presidents Society.

Thursday’s gathering, led by Dr. Gerard J. Rooney, president of the College, unveiled new plaques on the columns of Kearney Hall that honor the Society’s 17 founding members.

“We chose this spot in the courtyard of Kearney Hall, the most iconic building of our College, to recognize your generosity and inspire others to one day follow in your footsteps,” President Rooney said in remarks during the ceremony. “Not only has Fisher impacted our current students, it has impacted the lives of more than 31,000 graduates who have found successful careers and serve as leaders in the communities in which they live and work. None of our success today or in our storied past would be possible without the generosity of all of you.”

Gifts from this select group of philanthropists have realized the creation of four professional schools; construction of academic buildings and athletic facilities, enhancing the footprint of the College and increasing enrollment of student-athletes; and endowed scholarships for students across disciplines, helping to achieve Fisher’s mission of ensuring access to its transformative educational opportunities.

Inducted into founding membership are Rev. John R. Cavanaugh, CSB; Charles A. ’61 and Elaine M. Constantino; Maurice and Maxine Forman; B. Thomas Golisano, James P. Growney ’66; Ronald E. Hermance, Jr. ’69 and Kris Hermance; Paul D. Hogan ’69; William J. and Jane Napier; Wanda and Gene Polisseni; Victor E. Salerno, Jr. ’66 and Eileen T. Salerno; Robert B. and Margaret Wegman; Mr. and Mrs. Ralph C. Wilson, Jr.; and Joseph and Irene Skalny. The plaques also recognize philanthropic organizations including the Fred L. Emerson Foundation, the Congregation of St. Basil (Basilian Fathers), the Alvin F. and Ruth K. Thiem Foundation, and the Davenport-Hatch Foundation.