Skip to content

Fisher Recognizes 73 Employees for Service

October 14, 2022

Seventy-three St. John Fisher University faculty and staff were recently recognized for milestone years of service during the annual Service Awards Ceremony, held on Thursday, Oct. 13.

Albert Hoffend and Heze Simmons

In all, the employees recognized during the ceremony have given 950 years of service to Fisher, and have seen the University experience remarkable change and growth.

“We have come back together, and it is wonderful to see Fisher as a very active and vibrant campus once again – the way it is meant to be,” said Valerie Benjamin, assistant vice president for human resources. “We thank you for staying the course, going above and beyond, and for your dedication to your work, your colleagues, and our students.”

Al Hoffend, who celebrated 45 years at Fisher, came to campus in 1977 when the Bookstore opened and the Alfred University Nursing program opened a branch here. Dr. Dave Pate, Dr. Steve Valone, and Bob Ward each celebrated 35 years of service. They joined the University in 1987, just after Fisher earned reaccreditation from Middle States and the University welcomed its first lay president, Dr. Pickett.

Full List of Honorees

45 Years: Albert Hoffend

35 Years: David Pate, Stephen Valone, Robert Ward

25 Years: David Johnson, Norman Kieffer, Brian Shaffer

20 Years: Frederick Dotolo, Daryl Hurd, Barbara Lowe, Lawrence McCombs, Laura Phelan, Whitney Rapp, David Roberts, Kristen Stone, Stephen Watts

15 Years: Elizabeth Christiansen, Marie Cianca, Tamara Clingerman, Gregory Cunningham, Christina Franklin, Melissa Goodwin, Michelle Gosier, Nancy Greco, Rachel Jordan, John Merriwether, Robin Schmid, Judianne Slish, Charlene Smith, Michael Valicenti, Karl Williams

10 Years: Kristin Blake, Katharine Burakowski, Lipika Chablani, Lisa Cunningham, Lori Dambaugh, Vivek Dave, Andrea DiGiorgio, Natalie Dixon, Scott Erdeli, Michael Henchen, Alexey Ignatchenko, Michael Katz, Elizabeth Kiss, Lauren Kocman, Kermin Martinez-Hernandez, Kimberly McClure Brenchley, Fernando Ontiveros Llamas, Melanie Phillips, Tara Sacco, Catherine Sweet, Bradley Thrush, Derek Vanderlinde

5 Years: Anthony Chiarlitti, Kerry Driscoll, Ann Marie Fallon, William Fischer, Chad Goulette, Melissa Kuberka, Sarah Mancini-Goebert, Kevin Mannara, Heather McGrane Minton, Travis Mitchell, Henry Moscicki, Antonio Ojeda, Regina Stafford, Sukruth Suresh, Diane Tran, Donna Tydings, Michael Watson, Omar Watts, Eileen Wilbert, Jennifer Zumbo-Laplante