Skip to content

Five New Inductees Join National Mathematics Honor Society

April 21, 2021

On Friday, April 16, the Department of Mathematics, Computer Science, and Statistics inducted its eighth cohort of students into Pi Mu Epsilon, the national mathematics honor society.

. New inductees included Clarissa Hensler, Natalie Petruzelli, Rachael Osterhoudt, MacGregor Winegard, and Kailyn Woodard.

New inductees included Clarissa Hensler (Honors), Natalie Petruzelli (Honors), Rachael Osterhoudt (Honors), MacGregor Winegard, and Kailyn Woodard.

According to Dr. Kris Green, professor and department chair, this year’s inductees were all exceptional, both in mathematics but at the College as a whole.

“All five members of this group not only met the stringent academic requirements of the honor society, but they represent a variety of contributions to mathematics outside of the classroom as well. This includes working in the Math Center as tutors, attending national and local mathematics conferences, participating in summer research experiences, and leadership roles in several campus student organizations,” he said.

He went on to say that one of the most noteworthy aspects of this group cannot be captured in a transcript or resume.

“They became the heart and soul of a community of mathematicians that supported not only their own growth and learning, but those of their classmates, and of the faculty and department as a whole. The department offers our sincere congratulations to these students, and our thanks for the privilege of teaching you,” he added.

Hensler, Petruzelli, Osterhoudt, Winegard, and Woodard joined the previous 24 student inductees of the Alpha Sigma chapter of the organization.