Skip to content

New Pathway Helps Cayuga Grads Continue Education at St. John Fisher College

March 29, 2021

Cayuga Community College and St. John Fisher College announced the creation of a new academic pathway this week, helping Cayuga grads continue their education in one of upstate New York’s leading higher education institutions.

Signed this semester by Cayuga President Dr. Brian Durant and St. John Fisher College President Dr. Gerard Rooney, the agreement helps Cayuga graduates in specific programs enroll at St. John Fisher College with an opportunity to earn a bachelor’s degree in two years. Cayuga students must meet St. John Fisher College’s academic standing policies to transfer.

“Academic partnerships designed to benefit transfer students are very important to us as an institution, and we are pleased to add Cayuga Community College to our list of valued partners,” said Dr. Gerard J. Rooney, president of St. John Fisher College. “We hope to provide these students with a seamless transition to a transformational education at Fisher that will prepare them for both their personal and professional lives, and we look forward to welcoming them to campus with the strong foundation they have established at Cayuga Community College.”

“Building academic partnerships with fellow colleges and universities creates opportunities for our students to capitalize on their academic and career potential, which is an integral part of our mission at Cayuga Community College,” said Dr. Durant. “St. John Fisher College is a strong institution with great programs and faculty who are invested in the success of their students. I know that our graduates will thrive in their challenging, student-focused environment.”

To complete a transfer to St. John Fisher College as part of the new agreement, Cayuga students must first earn their associate’s degree from any of 10 specified degree programs. These programs include Business Administration, Computer Science, Criminal Justice and multiple Liberal Arts & Sciences programs. Students will also identify a related program at St. John Fisher College they wish to transfer into from a designated list of options.

In addition to earning their degree at Cayuga, students must have a minimum GPA of 2.0 to be eligible to transfer to St. John Fisher College as part of the new agreement. Certain programs may require a higher GPA or additional prerequisite coursework.

All currently enrolled and incoming fall 2021 Cayuga students are eligible to be considered for the transfer program.

Cayuga students may choose from one of 38 academic majors in the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, business, education, and nursing, as well as 11 pre-professional programs at Fisher. The College also offers a variety of in-person, hybrid, and online master’s and doctoral programs in business, nursing, education, pharmacy, and public health.

A member of the State University of New York, Cayuga Community College offers 32 degree programs and 10 certificate programs, plus micro-credentials and workforce development training. With a strong online offering and campuses in the cities of Auburn in Cayuga County and Fulton in Oswego County, the College offers thousands of students opportunities to start or resume their higher education pathway.

For more information about St. John Fisher College, visit For more information about Cayuga, visit