Students: Take the Healthy Minds Survey

March 22, 2021

Today, St. John Fisher College is launching the Healthy Minds Survey as a part of the College’s partnership with the Jed (JED) Foundation.

The web-based survey examines mental health, service utilization, and related issues among undergraduate and graduate students. Results will help Fisher gain a better understanding of the mental health of students and help identify ways the College can enhance its mental health and suicide prevention systems, programs, and policies.

 Students at Fisher will begin to receive the survey via email this week. The survey takes just 25 minutes to complete, and all responses are anonymous and confidential. The survey will remain open until April 12, 2021. Students completing the survey have a chance to win one of several prizes.

The survey is being sponsored by Fisher’s JED Taskforce and the Student Government Association.

“Throughout the academic year, the SGA has focused on rebuilding and focusing on the needs of the students,” said Jenna Vinoya ’24, chief of staff for the Student Government Association. “The Healthy Minds Survey Initiative from the JED Foundation is a great way to do exactly that, by listening to student voices and representing them as best we can. We hope that students support us as well and fill out the survey."

Rebecca Kieffer, director of the Health and Wellness Center, said that the College hopes to elevate the ways in which Fisher helps students address issues of mental health, and the survey will play a large role in that effort.

“The feedback and data we obtain from this survey will be used by the College in the formation of a strategic plan to address the gaps that exist in regards to the important topics of mental wellness, suicide, and substance abuse awareness and prevention,” she said.

Members of the JED Taskforce, led by Kieffer and co-chair Dr. Heather McGrane Minton, Wegmans School of Nursing; include: Dr. Michelle Erklenz-Watts, Center for Career and Academic Planning; Chris Keffer, Center for Career and Academic Planning; Joy Breeden, Office of Accessibility; Juana Vega, Office of Multicultural Affairs; Yantee Slobert, Office of Multicultural Affairs; Jenna Weintraub, Office of Student Engagement and Inclusion; Dr. Amy Parkhill, Wegmans School of Pharmacy; Dr. Gail Begley, Wegmans School of Nursing; Dr. David Kunsch, School of Business; Dr. Rob Linton, School of Arts and Sciences; Dr. Susie Hildenbrand, Ralph C. Wilson, Jr. School of Education; Jennifer Granger, Athletics Department; Melissa Greco Lopes, Office of Marketing and Communications; Brock Glann, Office of Safety and Security; Meg Flaherty, Division of Student Affairs; graduate student Bailey PIlant, and undergraduate student Aleysha Dominquez.