Skip to content

Class of 2023 Honored with Academic, Campus Life Awards

May 14, 2023

Each year, St. John Fisher University honors members of its graduating class who have achieved excellence in their academic studies and co-curricular pursuits.

A Class of 2023 tassel hangs from a graduate's mortar board.

Awards were given to undergraduate, master’s, and doctoral students during events held throughout the week. Students were also formally honored during their respective Commencement ceremonies.

Award Winners

Campus Life Awards

  • Ruth Ann Constantino Senior Award: Daudi Aloyce
  • Veteran and Active Duty Military Recognition Award: Alex Martens
  • St. John Fisher University Alumni Award: Helen Rose Shine
  • John A. Murray Award in Leadership: Michael Lilholt
  • Paul F. English, CSB, Campus Ministry Leadership Award: Alyson Witt
  • Joseph A. Trovato, CSB, Campus Ministry Award: Kevin Havens
  • St. Cecelia Campus Ministry Award: Maria Robinson

School of Arts and Sciences

  • Provost’s Award for Best Paper: Marcus Lindenburg
  • Honors Award for Contribution to the Academic Experience: Alexandra Duma
  • Marsherall Award for Academic Achievement: Mariangelis Gonzalez
  • Award for Excellence in American Studies: Molly Mineo
  • Outstanding Anthropology Student Award: Jessica Ryan
  • Award for Excellence in Biology: Katelin Keenehan and Raunak Salah Al-Rubayie
  • Award for Excellence in Biochemistry: Sydney French
  • Joan Rowan Memorial Award (Biology): Christian Leonardo and Mariangelis Gonzalez
  • Undergraduate Award for Outstanding Achievement in Chemistry, Sponsored by the American Chemical Society, Rochester Section: Justin Gabriel
  • Award for Excellence in Natural Sciences: Justin Gabriel
  • Award for Excellence in Criminology and Criminal Justice: Grace Colaprete and Mackayla MacDowall
  • Award for Excellence in Economics: Gabrielle Papale
  • Clarence Amann Award (English): Theresa VanWormer
  • Matthew Richards Prize (English): Marcus Lindenburg
  • Outstanding Senior Literature Capstone Paper (English): Spencer Bonawitz
  • John A. Murray Award in History: Joseph Morscheimer
  • James S. Doyle Memorial Award for Excellence in Experiential Learning – History: Keara Cook
  • Zelda Lyons Award (Humanities): Roblyn Powley
  • Award for Excellence in Foreign Languages: Jenna Skype
  • Award for Excellence in Legal Studies: Samual Hopcia
  • Boris D. Rakover Award (Mathematics and Computer Science): Jacob Vetere and Samual Hopcia
  • Award for Excellence in Film and Television Studies: Mitchell Steedman
  • James Seward Senior Award for Excellence in Media and Communication: Jessica D’Amico
  • Keough Founding Editors’ Award (Media and Communication): Madison Weber
  • Award for Excellence in Media Management: Hannah Moyer
  • Robert G. Miller, CSB, Award in Philosophy and Classical Studies: Maxwell Utman
  • Stefan Maczynski Award (Political Science): Clare Boegel
  • Award for Excellence in Psychology - Academic Achievement: McKenna Atkinson-Snow
  • Award for Excellence in Psychology - Academic Engagement: Emma Moscato
  • Award for Excellence in Psychology - Commitment to Scholarly Activity: Jennah Ferrari
  • John F. Murphy, CSB, Award in Religious Studies: Madelynn Tibbetts
  • Outstanding Sociology Student Award: Karina Garcia
  • Award for Excellence in Sport Management: Benjamin Conrow
  • Award for Excellence in Sustainability: Thomas Minahan
  • Deirdre McKiernan Hetzler Award for Women and Gender Studies Scholarship: Theresa VanWormer
  • Kate Gleason Award (Women and Gender Studies Scholarship): Madison Weber

School of Business


  • Senior Marketing Award: Nicole Smith
  • Award for Excellence in General Business Management Award: Joseph Ruggiero
  • Award for Excellence in Human Resources Management - Highest UG GPA: Riley Gardner
  • Excellence in Finance: Russell Goodman and Spencer Webb
  • Charles P. Wolfe Award: Adrianna Carfagna
  • Delta Sigma Pi Scholarship Key: Nicole Smith
  • Otto A. Shults Accounting Excellence Award: Jonathan Costain

Master of Business Administration

  • Scholarly Achievement Award: Gregory Ingraham, Tek Acharya, and Valerie Kolossovsky
  • Distinguished Student Award: Andi Balland

Ralph C. Wilson, Jr. School of Education


  • Outstanding Undergraduate Educator Award – Adolescence: Jack Provenzano
  • Outstanding Undergraduate Educator Award – Childhood: Rhianna Nasal
  • Outstanding Undergraduate Teacher Community Service Award: Sophia Sportelli
  • Outstanding Undergraduate Teacher Leadership Award: Jenna Guarino
  • Collaborative Education for Equity Trailblazer’s Award: Christopher Schahczenski

Master of Science in Educational Leadership

  • Distinguished Educational Leadership Award: Michael Pasquarella
  • Ronald Edmonds Award of Excellence: Rachel Hildreth

Master of Science in Library Media

  • Distinguished Library Media Award: Jessica Nelson (Teacher2Librarian cohort) and Sarah Gunner Moorfoot

Master of Science in Special Education

  • Excellence in Capstone Research Award: Valerie Tisdale
  • Outstanding Educator Award: Britney Brongo
  • Social Justice Award: Sophia Constantino

Doctorate in Executive Leadership

  • Exemplary Performance in Scholarship: Abigail Baird, Edith Banks, and Jason Simoni
  • Exemplary Performance in Leadership: Caron Cox, Lillie Ann Potter, Raina Hinman, and Dr. Renee Burgess
  • Exemplary Performance in Service: Francisca White, Twiggy Eure, and Wendy Ross

Wegmans School of Nursing


  • American Nurses Association NY Future Nurse Leader Award: Deanna Clark
  • Clara H. Wagner Excellence in Clinical Practice Nursing Award: Delaney Brehm
  • Genesee Valley Nurses Association Student Leadership Award: Sara Crouser
  • Wegmans School of Nursing Undergraduate Award for Highest Undergraduate GPA: Katelyn Dang and Grace Hainsworth
  • Wegmans School of Nursing Undergraduate Award for Highest RN/BSN GPA: Catherine Conroy, Jennifer Gressel, Loraine Montanez
  • Glover-Crask Simulation Center Experiential Learning Award: Katie Chang and Erika Lynn Johnson
  • Wegmans School of Nursing RN/BSN Professional Practice Award: Jessica Lyon and Heather Malley

Master of Science in Advanced Practice Nursing

  • Master of Science in Advanced Practice Nursing Academic Excellence Award: Caleb David Branch, Kaylynn Margaret Ingraham, Johannah S. Hickey, Kyle C. Hryhorenko, Emily Therese LePage, Rosalie Margaret O’Brien, Lauren Elizabeth Sicker, Melissa Lynn Smith, Tara Veith, Elizabeth Willome, Liza Glenn Yap
  • Master of Science in Advanced Practice Nursing Distinguished Student Award: Heather Burchell, Christi Nicole Bottcher, Sarah A. Dirks, Michelle Draxl, Shante Nicole Hand-Fletcher, Alexis Rae Messak, Bethany Nicole Phelps, Tatum R. Reyn, Amy Marie Scalzo, Kimberly Michelle Stevenson, Alana Marie Surace, Brittany Rose Wheaton

Mental Health Counseling

  • Kastberg Scholarly Achievement Award: Shannon Swenson
  • Dvorin Award for Excellence in Integrated Care: Ashley Enfonde
  • Bufano Counselor Excellence Award: Kathlyn Miller

Doctor of Nursing Practice

  • Academic Excellence and Scholarly Achievement Award: Michelle Slymon
  • Clinical Practice Scholarship Award: Katherine Rowles, Michelle Slymon

Wegmans School of Pharmacy

  • Dean’s Circle Awards: Natalie Bao Trang Dang, Brittany Kay Post, Juliana Elisa Spencer, Lauren Emily St. John, Jayson Lee Wojcinski, Aladin Zukic
  • APhA-ASP Senior Recognition Certificate: Lauren St. John
  • PSSNY Award: Teresita Muniz
  • USPHS Excellence in Public Health Pharmacy Award: Eddie Miljkovic
  • Merck Academic Excellence in Pharmacy Award: Tanner Buchanan, Juliana Spencer
  • Viatris Excellence in Pharmacy Award:  Alexie Taskovski
  • Excellence in Experiential Education Award: Robert Clark, Sarah Diller, Kloie Quigley, Bailey Soper, Lauren St. John, Matthew Tennyson
  • Wegmans Pharmacy Academic Excellence Award: Lauren St. John
  • Jack Brown Clinical Research Award: Zuzanna Pociecha