Skip to content

Biology Honor Society Inducts 27 New Members

April 15, 2022

St. John Fisher College’s Upsilon Rho chapter of the Beta Beta Beta (TriBeta) Biological Honor Society held its 9th annual Induction Ceremony on Friday, April 1. The event included a welcome from Dr. Ann Marie Fallon, dean of the School of Arts and Sciences, and Dr. Noveera Ahmed, chapter advisor and chair of the Biology Department.

The 2022 inductees into Beta Beta Beta Honor Society.

The chapter recognized three members for their outstanding achievements.  Luke Terry was presented with the chapter’s Research Award.  Terry dedicated 680 hours conducting research, received a $500 grant from TriBeta last fall, and has also worked on another project that was recently submitted for publication. Sydney Alloco was presented with the chapter’s Service Award. Since the beginning of the fall semester, Alloco has spent every Monday volunteering at TruImpact, providing tutoring services to high school and middle school students. Finally, the Best Member Award was given to Sophia Sportelli for her dedication to the chapter and willingness to serve the Fisher and Rochester communities.

The chapter inducted 22 new regular members and five associate members. 

New regular members include Asma Ali, Sydney Alloco, Isabela Ann Attardi, Audrey M. Collins, Brittany N. Dam, Brandon Drexler, Aroma Dulal, Hailey Furlong, Emmanuela Eya Esmeralda Emefa Kassegne, Matthew Kemmis, Azalia A Lugo, Octavio Sebastian Mateo Galvan, Lily McFadden, Bradley R. O’Neill, Melanie A. Pitcher, Taytum Pot, Norman Savatphay, Sophia Sportelli, Lauren Swartz, Rachael Vollmar, Emily Walther, and Kristina Lynn Wilson.

New associate members include Charly Campanella, Nicole DeAngelis, Roman Mazzulli, Mira Rai, and Ahmed Zaid.

The chapter also installed new officers: Raunak Al-Rubayie, president; Mariangelis Gonzalez, vice president; Sydney Alloco, secretary; Purnima Ghirime, treasurer; and Aroma Dulal, historian.